Visa exemption for entry into Cape Verde

49748492 2525557640794850 5725756421400690688 o

As of 1 January 2019, the list of countries exempted from requiring a tourist visa to enter Cape Verde has been extended to include most European countries. Visitors traveling from countries belonging to the European Union (including the UK) plus Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Lichtenstein will no longer be required to obtain a visitor visa on entry, and it is expected to extend to Monaco, San Marino, and Andorra.

The lost revenue from visa fees will be complemented by a new airport tax of 3,400 escudos, with citizens of Cape Verde and foreign residents exempt from paying. The visa waiver will allow stays of a maximum of 30 days, after which you must apply for a visa for the remainder of your stay. Visitors must still have a valid passport for at least 6 months after entry, and register with the Cape Verdeans authorities on the EASE website below prior to arrival.

Registration Form

The move is designed to stimulate more interest in Cape Verde as a holiday destination and increase competitiveness in the tourism industry.